Herb Kohl Educational Foundation
Herb Kohl Foundation Recipients
Posted on 05/23/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Herb Kohl Foundation RecipientsCongratulations to Pecatonica's Elizabeth Disch, recipient of the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation 2017 Fellowship award and Elizabeth Tisch, recipient of the  Herb Kohl Foundation Excellence Scholarship.

Liz DischLiz Tisch

A $6000 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation 2017 Fellowship was presented to Elizabeth Disch teacher at Pecatonica Elementary School in Hollandale, at a recognition luncheon hosted by Herb Kohl, Wisconsin philanthropist and businessman. The school will receive a matching $6,000 grant. 

In March, teachers receiving the fellowship were informed that they and their schools would be awarded $3,000 grants, but in a surprise announcement at the recognition luncheon, Herb Kohl revealed that he was doubling the size of the award. 

The Herb Kohl Fellowship recognizes teachers who have demonstrated superior ability to inspire love of learning in their students, have motivated others, and have provided meritorious service both inside and outside the classroom.

The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation has been recognizing educational excellence annually since 1990, awarding fellowships to100 Wisconsin teachers and matching grants to each fellow’s school. 

Since it was established in 1990, the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation has awarded $11.7 million to Wisconsin students, teachers, principals and schools. 

Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.  creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff, and community.

Excellence Scholarship, Fellowship and Leadership Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, representatives of education-related associations, and the program’s co-sponsors: the Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), and the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.